The University of Waikato

Also known as:

  • Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato

The University of Waikato was established on the Hamilton East Campus in 1964 as an amalgamation of the Hamilton Teachers' College, opened in 1960, and a subsidiary campus of the University of Auckland.

In 1964 the University consisted of schools of Humanities and Social Sciences. In 1969 a School of Science was added, followed by Waikato Management School in 1972, Computer Science and Computing Services in 1973, and the School of Law in 1990. At this time the Hamilton Teachers' College formally merged with the University.

A Centre for Māori Studies and Research was established within the School of Social Sciences in 1972, becoming a School of Māori and Pacific Development in 1996. In 2016 the name Te Pua Wānanga ki te Ao, Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies was adopted.

The University officially opened an urban Tauranga campus in 2019 this supported the existing presence in the Bay of Plenty at the Adams Centre for High Performance (Mount Maunganui) and the Coastal Marine Field Station at Sulphur Point (Tauranga Harbour). In November 2020 the University also opened a new algal research and aquaculture centre at Sulphur Point.

See also:

Buck Nin (Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāti Toa), ‘Patupairehe’(1992), MSB – Waikato Management School (Room 1.30), University of Waikato, Kirikiriroa Hamilton

Image: Bronwyn Holloway-Smith, Public Art Heritage Aotearoa New Zealand, 2022