Catholic Church in New Zealand

Also known as:

  • Te Hāhi Katorika ki Aotearoa

The Catholic Church of Aotearoa New Zealand is defined as the "Conference of Bishops or National Conference of Bishops ... a body of bishops generally defined by geographic borders. All the bishops in a given country belong to the same conference, which might also include neighbouring countries."

The Church is arranged according to six diocese: Auckland (1848), Hamilton (1980), Palmerston North (1980), Wellington (1848), Christchurch (1887) and Dunedin (1869).

~ website

Milan Mrkusich, main window, (c.1960), St Joseph Catholic Church, Grey Lynn, Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland

Image: Bronwyn Holloway-Smith, Public Art Heritage Aotearoa New Zealand, 2021