Whanganui District Council

Also known as:

  • Te Kaunihera a Rohe o Whanganui

The Whanganui District Council (WDC) is a territorial authority in the region south of the Taranaki Bight, in the North Island of Aotearoa. WDC was formed through the amalgamation of Wanganui and Waitotara county councils and Wanganui City Council.

In 2015 the New Zealand Geographic Board, at the request of the Wanganui District Council, changed the name of the district from Wanganui District to Whanganui District, bringing the name in line with the spelling of the river.

In 2022 Whanganui achieved UNESCO City of Design status, becoming one of 49 cities in the international UNESCO Creative Cities Network.

See also:

Matt Pine (Te Ati Haunui-a-Paparangi, Te Atiawa, Ngāti Tuwharetoa), ‘Cone Piece’ (1986), Whanganui War Memorial Hall, CBD, Whanganui

Image: Bronwyn Holloway-Smith, Public Art Heritage Aotearoa New Zealand, 2021