Gisborne District Council

Also known as:

  • Te Kaunihera o Te Tairāwhiti

Gisborne District Council was established in 1989 through the amalgamation of the councils of Gisborne City, Cook County, Waiapu County and Waikohu County, East Cape United Council, East Cape Catchment Board and Regional Water Board, East Coast Pest Destruction Board, two harbour boards, and environmental and recreation reserve boards. It performs the functions of both a regional council and a territorial authority (a district or city). The area it governs is constituted as both the Gisborne District and the Gisborne Region.

The Council is share holder of Gisborne Holdings Ltd, and its subsidiary Tauwhareparae Farms Ltd, and also BOPLASS Ltd.

Public libraries under the jurisdiction of the Gisborne District Council include HB Williams Memorial Library which houses many public art works.

Bishop Muru Walters (Te Rarawa, Te Aupōuri), ‘Te Mana Tāngata Te Wahine Te Tāne’ (1967), H.B. Williams Memorial Library, CBD, Tairāwhiti Gisborne

Images: Public Art Heritage Aotearoa New Zealand, 2021