National Mutual Life Assurance

National Mutual Life Association of Australasia started operations in Australia in the latter decades of the 19th century. Expanding out of the state of Victoria, between 1878 and 1886 the Association opened branches in South Australia, New South Wales, Queensland, Western Australia, Tasmania and Aotearoa.

In 1963 National Mutual Life Assurance employed architectural firm, Gray Young, Morton, Calder & Fowler to design a new building in Featherston Street, Wellington. The architects commissioned E. Mervyn Taylor to complete a mural for the reception area.

Demutualised in 1995 the Association was absorbed by the AXA group. The Association gave official notice of cessation of business as a life insurer in New Zealand on 1 February 2019.

See also:

Taylor’s lost mural for the National Mutual Life Assurance building, Wellington. Photo: Duncan Winder, 1963. Courtesy Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington, DW-1259-F